Resources

Journals

Access to relevant journals is central to effective research. The list below provides basic information about the major children's literature journals known and used by members of the board.

This information now also includes the open access/self-archiving policies for each journal, where known. These policies are based on the colour system defined by Sherpa RoMEO:

RoMEO ColourArchiving policy
GreenCan archive pre-print and post-print or publisher's version/PDF
BlueCan archive post-print (ie final draft post-refereeing) or publisher's version/PDF
YellowCan archive pre-print (ie pre-refereeing)
WhiteArchiving not formally supported

In addition to the Sherpa RoMEO system, there is a category of gold open access, which means that a publication is immediately provided in open access mode by the publisher. Costs are shifted from readers to the university or research institute to which the researcher is affiliated, or to the funding agency supporting the research. In some cases, article processing charges are implemented.

If you know of other journals that should be included in this section, please send details to Mavis Reimer (m.reimer@uwinnipeg.ca). A brief summary of its aims and general content, along with open access policy, would be helpful.

Jump to journals in:

Arabic | Croatian | English | Danish | Dutch | French | German | Greek | Italian | Norwegian | Spanish | Swedish

Arabic

Journal of Iranian Children's Literature Studies
Editor: Kavoos Hasanli (clsjournal@shirazu.ac.ir)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Croatian

Libri & Liberi
Editor: Smiljana Narancic Kovac (librietliberi@gmail.com)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

English

ALAN Review (Assembly on Literature for Adolescents)
Editors: Steven Bickmore (sbick@lsu.edu); Jacqueline Bach (jbach@lsu.edu); Melanie Hundley (melanie.hundley@vanderbilt.edu)
Open Access Policy: Blue; author can archive publisher's version/PDF

Bookbird
Editors: Roxanne Harde (rharde@augustana.ca); Lydia Kokkola (lydia.kokkola@utu.fi)
Open Access Policy: Green; archiving status unknown for publisher's version/PDF

Books for Keeps
Editor: Rosemary Stones (enquiries@booksforkeeps.co.uk)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Editor: Deborah Stevenson (dstevens@illinois.edu)
Open Access Policy: Green; archiving status unknown for publisher's version/PDF

Carousel: The Guide to Children's Books
Contact: carousel.guide@virgin.net
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Children's Literature Association Quarterly
Editor: Katharine Capshaw Smith (capshaw@uconn.edu)
Open Access Policy: Green; archiving status unknown for publisher's version/PDF

Children's Literature in Education
Editors: Annette Wannamaker (awannamak@emich.edu)
Open Access Policy: Green; author cannot archive publisher's version/PDF

Horn Book Magazine
Editor: Roger Sutton (info@hbook.com)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Inis: the Children's Books Ireland Magazine
Editors: Patricia Kennon (patricia@inismagazine.ie); David Maybury (david@inismagazine.ie)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

interjuli
Editor: Marion Rana (rana@interjuli.de)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Jeunesse: Young People, Texts, Cultures
Editor: Mavis Reimer (jeunesse@uwinnipeg.ca)
Open Access Policy: Green; author can archive publisher's version/PDF

Kirkus
Editor: Vicky Smith (vicky.smith@kirkusreviews.com)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Libri & Liberi
Editor: Smiljana Narancic Kovac (librietliberi@gmail.com)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

The Lion and the Unicorn
Editors: David L. Russell (russelld@ferris.edu); Karin E. Westman (westmank@ksu.edu); Naomi J. Wood (njwood@ksu.edu)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Magpies
Editor: Rayma Turton (james@magpies.net.au)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Marvels and Tales: Journal of Fairy Tale Studies
Editor: Donald Haase (aa3969@wayne.edu)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Library Media Connection
Editor: Gail Dickinson (gdickinson@librarymediaconnection.com)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

The Looking-Glass: An Online Children's Literature Journal
Editor: David Beagley (d.beagley@latrobe.edu.au)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

New Review of Children's Literature and Librarianship
Editor: Sally Maynard (s.e.maynard@lboro.ac.uk)
Open Access Policy: Yellow; author can archive post-print (ie final draft post-refereeing) after 18-month embargo

Papers: Explorations into Children's Literature
Editors: Clare Bradford (clarex@deakin.edu.au); Kerry Mallan (k.mallan@qut.edu.au)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

Red Feather: An International Journal of Children's Visual Culture
Editor: Debbie Olson (debbieo@okstate.edu)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

The School Librarian
Editor: Steve Hird (slaeditor@sla.org.uk)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

School Libraries Worldwide: Journal of The International Association of School Librarians
Editors: Nancy Everhart (everhart@fsu.edu); Marcia Mardis (mmardis@fsu.edu)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

School Library Journal
Editor: Brian Kenney (bkenney@mediasourceinc.com)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

SIGNAL Journal
Editors: Robyn Seglem (rseglem@ilstu.edu); Chris Goering (cgoering@uark.edu)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Viewpoint: on books for young adults
Editor: Pam Macintyre (education-viewpoint@unimelb.edu.au)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

VOYA: Voices of Youth Advocates
Editor: RoseMary Honnold (rhonnold@voya.com)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Write4Children: The International Journal for the Practice and Theories of Writing for Children and Children's Literature
Editors: Andrew Melrose; Vanessa Harbour (write4children@winchester.ac.uk)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

Danish

Nedslag i børnelitteraturforskningen
Editor: Nina Christensen (nc@dpu.dk)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Nordic Journal of ChildLit Aesthetics
Editor: Nina Goga (ngo@hib.no)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

Dutch

Literatuur zonder leeftijd
Editor: René van Stipriaan (redactie@dbnl.org)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

French

Cahiers Robinson
Editor: Francis Marcoin (francis.marcoin@univ-artois.fr)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Jeunesse: Young People, Texts, Cultures
Editor: Mavis Reimer (jeunesse@uwinnipeg.ca)
Open Access Policy: Green; author can archive publisher's version/PDF

Parole: La revue de l'institut Suisse jeunesse et médias
Editor: Sylvie Neeman (sylvie.neeman@hispeed.ch)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

La revue des livres pour enfants
Editor: Annick Lorant-Jolly (
annick.lorant-jolly@bnf.fr)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Strenae: Recherches sur les livres et objets culturels de l'enfance
Editors: Cécile Boulaire; Michel Defourny; Matthieu Letourneux; Mathilde Lévêque; Michel Manson
Email: strenae@revues.org
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

German

1000 und 1 Buch Das österreichische Magazin für Kinder- und Jugendliteratur
Editor: Klaus Nowak (klaus.nowak@jugendliteratur.net)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Buch & Maus
Editor: Katrin Schnellmann (katrin.schnellmann@sikjm.ch)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

interjuli
Editor: Marion Rana (rana@interjuli.de)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Julim-Journal
Editor: Ulrich H. Baselau (ulrich.baselau@ajum.de)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

JuLit
Editor: Doris Breitmoser (breitmoser@jugendliteratur.org)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Libri & Liberi
Editor: Smiljana Narancic Kovac (librietliberi@gmail.com)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Greek

Diadromes Sto Choro Tis Logotechnias Gia Pedia ke Neous
Editor: Maria Fakinou (mariaf@kastaniotis.com
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Keimena: Gia ti Theoria, ti Kritiki kai ti Didaktiki tis Pedikis Logotechnias
Editor: Tasoula Tsilimeni(tsilimeni@uth.gr)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

Italian

Andersen: Il giornale dei libri per ragazzi
Editor: Barbara Schiaffino (redazione@andersen.it)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Il Foletto: la rivista in lingua italiana dell'Istituto svizzero Media e Ragazzi
Editor: Silvia Bassani (silviabassani@tigri.ch)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

LiBeR
Editors: Domenico Bartolini (dbartolini@idest.net); Riccardo Pontegobbi (rpontegobbi@idest.net)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Norwegian

Nordic Journal of ChildLit Aesthetics
Editor: Nina Goga (ngo@hib.no)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

Spanish

CLIJ: Cuardenos de Literatura Infantil y Juvenil
Editor: Victoria Fernández (victoria.clij@coltmail.com)
Open Access Policy: no explicit policy; subscription-based

Swedish

Barnboken - tidskrift för barnlitteraturforskning
Editor: Lillemor Torstensson (barnboken@sbi.kb.se)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees

Nordic Journal of ChildLit Aesthetics
Editor: Nina Goga (ngo@hib.no)
Open Access Policy: Gold open access without article processing fees