Call for Nominations for 2015 IRSCL Book Award

As you all know, our 2015 Congress will be in Worcester, Great Britain, in August 2015. The Congress 2015 website is up and can be accessed through the Conferences page of the IRSCL website, at

We want to remind you to nominate books for consideration for the IRSCL Book Award. Books considered for the 2015 award must have been published during the period 2013-2014, must not have been nominated for an earlier IRSCL competition, and must deal with research on children’s literature or other forms of cultural texts for young people. Please note that books with a publication date of 2015 can be nominated first for the 2017 award. Authors can nominate their own books, or IRSCL members can nominate books by other members, as long as those nominating books and the authors of nominated books are IRSCL members whose membership is up to date.

In 2015, we have introduced a new category of competition for edited volumes. In other words, we will award up to two Book Awards in any competition, one for monographs and one for edited volumes.

Please email nominations to Astrid Surmatz before January 15, 2015, along with two hard copies of the book or confirmation that you have arranged for publishers to send nominated books directly to her. If the book has also been published electronically and is available through open access, please include the link in your nomination. Astrid’s contact details are as follows:

Astrid Surmatz
University of Amsterdam
Spuistraat 134
NL-1012 VB Amsterdam