IRSCL Book Award 2022- Applications open


This is a call to nominate books for consideration for the IRSCL Book Award 2022. Books considered for the 2022 award must have been published during the period 2020-2022, must not have been nominated for an earlier IRSCL competition, and must deal with research on children’s literature or other forms of cultural texts for young people. Authors can nominate their own books, or IRSCL members can nominate books by other members, as long as those nominating books and the authors of nominated books are IRSCL members whose membership is up to date. Please also note that books authored by the current members of the IRSCL Board are not eligible for the Award.

There are two categories in the competition. One for monographs and one for edited volumes. Please email nominations to Melanie Braith ( cc: to Lorraine Kerslake: before January 15, 2022, along with an electronic copy of the book (preferred) or, if this is not possible, two copies of the book or confirmation that you have arranged for publishers to send nominated books directly to Melanie (address below). If the book has been published electronically and is available through open access, please include the link in your nomination. Please remember to cc: Lorraine Kerslake ( in your email.

Contact details are as follows:

Melanie Braith

Mailing address for hard copies of books:

The University of Winnipeg
CRYTC, Attn. Melanie Braith
515 Portage Avenue
Winnipeg, MB, R3B 2E9